Carvin.com     FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Register   Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in  
 
 
 Boss AC2 and AC3 pedals? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Bundy
Alive again.


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 3401

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:37 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

The Boss AC3 is an acoustic sim pedal that replaced their AC2. Has anyone used these pedals with any success? I'm thinking about adding one to my rig (it can be MIDI'd in via FX loop) but I've read reviews of noise issues. I can get a used AC2 for about $50 or less but the AC3's are listed new at over $100. Cheaper than my dream Cobalt 770 or 980. Wink

I'm not looking for the perfect acoustic tone, but rather I'd like something close or in the ballpark so I can continue to use my DC747/V3 rig.

The following tune was recorded with a Digitech RP200 acoustic sim patch with little or no tweaking. If I can get this close with the Boss AC2 or AC3 I'd be happy:
http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=9931914

Thanks for your advice!

_________________
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me...
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
T-Bone-BBQ
Too Much Free Time


Offline
Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1566
Location: Alvord, TX

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:56 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

I don't know if this will help, but my advice is get an AE185... Applause Mr. Green

I used to have an AC-2 and didn't like it...the AE185 beats it hands down. Never tried an AC-3 tho...

_________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Righteous Blues Band

"I can't win...'cause I don't have a thing to lose" - Buddy Guy
View user's profileSend private message
Bundy
Alive again.


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 3401

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:58 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

T-Bone-BBQ wrote:
I don't know if this will help, but my advice is get an AE185... Applause Mr. Green

I used to have an AC-2 and didn't like it...the AE185 beats it hands down. Never tried an AC-3 tho...


Won't work. AE185's only have six strings, and I can't do that anymore... Razz

_________________
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me...
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
tms13pin
Too Much Free Time


Offline
Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 1219
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:39 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

Keith--

I've not used either of them, but that being said, I've heard they're
ok for live, they do a good enough job to "get in the zone". You
might try to find one of the old SR&D Rockman ones, I heard they
sounded pretty good.

Here's one that didn't sell, might contact them and see if they'll
sell it cheaply:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ORIGINAL-ROCKMAN-ACOUSTIC-GUITAR-PEDAL-/140555267341?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item20b9bf2d0d

--Tom
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Guitardan
Museum Supporter


Offline
Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 1100
Location: S.E. Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:03 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

Bundy,

I've owned both and the AC3 does have some improvements over the 2.
Something I found w/ both units is that they will distort if you hit them w/ some strong strumming. If you take it easy or do some finger picking both are fine.

I've seen the AC3 at the GC's maybe you can check one out before you decide??

Dan

_________________
My Sound Clips:
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=686308
View user's profileSend private message
Bundy
Alive again.


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 3401

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:33 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks all.

I've found used AC2's online at GC for $39.99 and $49.99, but they're not at my local store. Any stores around here that sell Boss pedals do not have the AC3 in-stock.

I need it for a gig on the weekend of June 17-19th. If I can't get one, I'll simply use the V3 clean channel as-is with my usual chorus. I was just hoping one of these pedals might help me get closer to that "unplugged/acoustic" tone and the samples I've heard online sound decent enough.

The next DC747 I order will have piezo saddles on it. Mr. Green

_________________
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me
I'll mend myself before it gets me...
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
X100BNut
Too Much Free Time


Offline
Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 739
Location: Los Gatos, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:27 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

I tried the Boss ACs at a fairly loud guitar store, and liked the tone, but I did some research, and they have a reputation for being a bit noisy.
View user's profileSend private message
sirmyghin
Way Too Much Free Time


Offline
Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 3072
Location: Canadia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:45 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

Install a Ghost system: problem solved.
View user's profileSend private message
ffreaddy
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Mass

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:27 am   Reply with quoteBack to top

http://boston.craigslist.org/bmw/msg/2430218963.html

Hope this may help!!
View user's profileSend private message
Riviera2dice
Born to Rock - Forced to Work


Offline
Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 1659
Location: Illinois - near St. Louis

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:28 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

I have an AC - I believe it's probably a 2 - on my pedal board. Tom is correct, it will get you in the ballpark. I use it on 2 - 3 song intros and it does an OK job. For me it's easier than trying to take, stand, and set up my Ovation.

Why wouldn't I use the new Martin you ask? Well... it'll never see a rock band gig, that's why.

Mr. Green Shame on you Not talking


Correction, I just checked and I have an AC3.

_________________


www.SkylineBand.Info
My Soundclick Page
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address
BluesPicker
Way Too Much Free Time


Offline
Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 3450
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:27 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

Riviera2dice wrote:


Why wouldn't I use the new Martin you ask? Well... it'll never see a rock band gig, that's why.


Exactly. Got a great Martin D-35, but I refuse to gig it in a bar. Found a nice single cutaway Ovation on double-sale for $299. I have no qualms about seeing it get dented or worst.

Keith -- I have at times found a nice almost-acoustic tone just by dorking around a bit with my electric guitar's tone and volume setting. I mean, a Les Paul isn't going to sound like a true acoustic, but you can get some soft, warm semi-acoustic tones with it. For the few songs I might do in a night that wants that sound, it's close enough. I've just never liked the various effects that try to get an electric to should like an acoustic.

Paul

_________________
THE ROCKIN' ROAD DOGS
INDIE MUSIC WORKS
REVERB NATION
FACEBOOK
View user's profileSend private message
woodshedder
Museum Supporter


Offline
Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:58 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

FWIW, and I confess I am no tone guru, I used to have the Digitech Eric Clapton Crossroads pedal, which models many EC tones, and the most awesome sound for me from that pedal was the Acoustic guitar simulator. I was impressed with that tone, but that's not what I bought the pedal for, and so I got rid of it.

_________________
To be obsessed with the destination is to remove the focus from where you are. -Philip Toshio Sudo, in Zen Guitar
View user's profileSend private message
telemike
Member of the Family


Offline
Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Location: Greensboro, NC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:05 am   Reply with quoteBack to top

Late to the game, but you can get a Boss riip-off from Behringer dirt cheap but I'd go BOSS myself.

You can use the Acoustic simulator on the Roland Cube30 as it should be close to the pedal sound.

_________________
"Live like no one else, so that later you can live like no one else."
View user's profileSend private message
Folkie
Don't believe everything you think.


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:06 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

telemike wrote:

You can use the Acoustic simulator on the Roland Cube30 as it should be close to the pedal sound.


Based on my recollection of the acoustic simulator on the Cube 30 (I used to have one) that's not much of a recommendation. Sounded awful.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


The views and opinions expressed on the Carvin Museum Forums are solely the responsibility of the authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of the Carvin Museum Webmaster, or of Carvin Corporation.