KieselGuitars.com     FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Register   Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in  

Fretles bass for absolute beginner?????? View next topic
View previous topic
truedog
Too Much Free Time

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:08 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

My wife is showing some interest in learning to play bass. She has never played a musical instrument, but DOES have a good ear. She can carry a tune quite well when singing.

She has been eyeballing basses at local pawn shops and asked me to llok at one today. It was a Jay Turser bass and did not impress me much. It has WAY too much bow in the neck and the strings are almost 1/2" off the neck at the higher frets. It may just need some setup, but it makes me wonder if the neck is so bad that someone did this to eliminate fret buzz.

Anyhow, while at the pawn shop I pulled down a Squier Jazz Fretless and played it a bit for her. I was amazed at how easy it played and how good it sounded for a less than $300 bass. She really liked the sound too.

Would a fretless be too difficult for an absolute beginner or would it be okay?

Last edited by truedog on Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
tbonesullivan
New and Improved

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:19 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top

what is her musical experience? fretless is usually not a beginner instrument unless you are switching from double bass. Even with the lined fretboard you still need good ears.

Effects: Boss OD-20, Carvin XP4, AC120, ODB-3, ISP Dec.
Tripoutski
I did not go Country, Country got me

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:51 pm   Reply with quoteBack to top